Press News

Puzzler After Light Fades to Feature in Steam Next Fest

Orchid of Redemption today announced that their sokoban puzzle game After Light Fades will feature in the upcoming February Steam Next Fest.

After Light Fades is a mystical, magical puzzle game about letting go. After the loss of her beloved partner, Alice is left with seven emotionally resonant artefacts. She embarks on a journey to revisit seven of their favourite places and cast each artefact into an abyss, so she can finally be free.

This announcement comes just one week after their successful Early Access launch of their free first-person 3D platformer Dream of the Star Haven, which has been received positively by players and critics.

Orchid of Redemption are aiming to use Steam Next Fest to bring the richness of the game’s deep and evolving puzzles to new audiences around the world, and shine a light on its unique ambience and emotionally resonant setting.

After Light Fades will be featuring in the upcoming Steam Next Fest, and the game’s Steam page currently has a demo available to download and play.

About After Light Fades

An emotionally resonant and reflective puzzle game about love and loss, reconnecting with nature, and letting go of old memories that are holding you back.

As Alice, venture out into a serene overworld, with 7 artefacts your lost love Aura left behind. As Alice puzzles through each world, she carries and keeps the artefacts safe from hazards, until she reaches each special place where each one can be cast into an abyss, allowing her to unfold into a freer and lighter person, one step closer to completely letting go.


After Light Fades is a 2.5D sokoban. It has a rich and magical ruleset with a feast of elements that players can get creative with. Everything from using fire to melt ice, connecting electric circuits, magnets, fire propagation, growing vines, magic mirrors, clones, teleports, transmutation and so much more!


In a tale of grief, transformation, and self-discovery, Alice embarks on a journey after her partner Aura’s tragic death in a house fire. Sifting through the ashes, Alice finds seven artefacts.

Compelled by mysterious emotions tied to these items, Alice resolves to visit seven significant places they shared, casting each artefact into an abyss, to let go and find solace. Each artefact represents a stage of Alice’s healing and unlocks a realm reflecting its nature.

Feather Fields challenges her toward vulnerability. Glimmer Cove is an oasis of fools-gold treasures that unlocks a deeper grief. The Crystal Lagoon brings clarity but hardens Alice’s heart. The mountains of Echo Peaks show a vista of the patterns of the journey-so-far. Finally, in the the Ever-Shifting Manor, Alice realizes the true extent of her abilities, threading a way home as a reality-transforming alchemist.

As Alice travels, guardian spirits recognize her abilities, inviting her into the secrets of alchemy and towards one final revelation that casts her whole journey in a new light!

Contact Us
Facebook Page98
Steam Group1.2k
X Profile151
Ko-fi Account